top of page
  • tylernicholas174

10 Gospel Songs That You Need To Listen To Right Now

Written by Tyler Nicholas


Gospel music is such a beautiful, sacred form of expression that Christians use to honour and worship God which has inspired millions of people to build a relationship with him. The genre of music is so powerful that I mostly feel God's presence around me when I listen to it. So, here is my list of Gospel songs that you need to listen to right now:


1. William McDowell - 'Only You Can Satisfy'


Credit:YouTube


This is my favourite gospel song of all time! I came across this song last year when I lost my friend to sudden death and, it helped me find peace and perspective. 'Only You Can Satisfy' is such a spectacular song as it teaches us that ONLY God can produce human fulfilment.


"For this is how God loved the world: He gave his one and only Son,

so that everyone who believes in him

will not perish but have eternal life." (John 3:16 NLT)


2. Travis Greene - 'Made A Way'


Credit:YouTube


Coming in at number two is my absolute favourite song from Travis Green. 'Made A Way' is such a beautiful song that, I admit, makes me cry from time to time (in a good way, of course).


This song emphasises that God can make the impossible possible. He has plans for us that are beyond our comprehension. To believe in him is to see that he has a purpose for his children on this Earth, which has already been decided by him. Regardless of the path that he chooses to take us on, it is for a reason. All in all, you will still achieve your purpose with God's mercy, guidance and wisdom. Can I get an Amen?


3. William McDowell - 'I Give Myself Away'


Credit:YouTube


Number three is William McDowell's 'I Give Myself Away'. This song is a constant reminder that our lives are not our own. They belong to God and, we must honour God in everything we do on this Earth!


So let us come boldly to the throne of our gracious God. There we will receive his mercy, and we will find grace to help us when we need it most. (Hebrews 4:16 NLT)



4. Jubilee Worship - 'No Bondage' ft. Jenifer Ese and Anthony Brown


Credit:YouTube


At number four is a song that has me on my feet every single time! 'No Bondage' by Jubilee Worship holds such an important message of repentance and spiritual freedom from sin. Whatever has made you feel like you are in a constant cycle of sin, giving yourself to Christ will free you from the spiritual bondage(s) in your life.


"Now I will break the yoke of bondage from your neck and tear off the chains of Assyrian oppression." (Nahum 1:13 NLT)


5. William McDowell - 'Falling On My Knees'


Credit:YouTube


Number five is a song that reminds me of this scripture; 'Come, let us worship and bow down. Let us kneel before our maker' (Psalms 95:6 NLT). It is only through God that you can see life clearly and by bowing down to him, you are respecting and, acknowledging his power over your whole existence and praise him for it. To God be the Glory!


6. Tasha Cobbs Leonard - 'For your Glory'


Credit: YouTube


A song dedicated to honouring God and doing absolutely anything he asks of us. 'For Your Glory' instantly reminded me of the biblical story of Abraham and Isaac which was a test that showed a father's devotion to God above his son that he desired more than anything, resulting in God rewarding him by allowing him to keep his son and his covenant with God.


In the bible God says: Because you have obeyed me and have not

withheld even your son, your only son,

I swear by my own name that I will certainly bless you. (Genesis 22: 16-17 NLT)


7. Isabel Davis - 'Wide as The Sky'


Credit:YouTube


Number seven is a song that I would describe as a hidden treasure. 'Wide as The Sky' is a song that uplifts God and constantly appreciates him for all of his glory!


8. Todd Dulaney - 'Victory Belongs To Jesus'


Credit:YouTube


Creeping in at number eight is Todd Dulaney's 'Victory Belongs To Jesus'. This song is a musical masterpiece with the help of Dulaney's choir, I how now become obsessed with this song!


The song conveys the message that Jesus prevails over everything. Victory really does belong to Jesus!


"The Horse is prepared for the day of the battle, but the Victory belongs to the Lord ." (Proverbs 21:31 NLT)


9. Tasha Cobbs Leonard - 'You Know My Name'


Credit:YouTube


Tasha Cobbs uses her powerful singing voice to illustrate her love for God in this song, as well as sending a strong message of hope onto her listeners. God has undying loyalty for his people. No matter what happens in your life, God is always there for you. As long as he knows your name, you are of importance to him.


10. Tasha Cobbs Leonard - Fill Me Up


Credit: YouTube


Lastly, number ten is Tasha Cobbs' 'Fill Me Up'. In another one of Cobbs' amazingly melodic songs, we see her centre stage, crying out to God to fill her with the holy spirit. This is an important part of becoming a Christian as the holy spirit being inside of you, allows you to be guided into a life of righteousness.


The song can be understood by listeners with its connection to Proverbs 3:5; 'trust God with all your heart and do not depend on your own understanding' ( NLT).


The message that I took from this song is to allow God to be your fulfilment in life by putting Him first above all else and to do that, RUN to Jesus instead of sinning as he is the key to inheriting the Kingdom of God.

 

Subscribe to 'The Voiceless Youth' to get notified when new articles are published.

235 views
bottom of page